Governors State University

Civil Service Senate Minutes

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 11:00 a.m. – Zoom

	Present	Excused	Absent		Present	Excused	Absent
Lura Brown (2020)	х			Johnsie McAuley- Davis (2020)		х	
Kim Ferkula (2020)	Х			Brenda Moore (2020)	X		
Dorothea Franklin (2020)	х			Susie Morris (2021)	x		
Kathleen Frossard Fisher (2021)	х			Raquel Rios-Aguirre (2020)	Х		
LaSheena Fuller (2020)	х			Deirdre Webb (2021)		х	
Lynette Johnson (2020)		х		Merri Wilkerson (2021)		Х	
Sheryl Jones-Harper (2020)	х						

Guests: Monika Okitikpi, Graduate Placement Officer; Joan Johns Maloney, Coordinator of Benefits & Employee Relations; Michelle Sebasco, Program Director; Brave Fung, Payroll Specialist I; Christal Burton, Human Resource Representative; Diane Urbanczyk, Business Administrative Associate, Transfer/Articulation Coordinator; Markita Alexander, HR Testing & Recruiting Specialist; Karen Caesar, Director of University Events and Commencement Officer; Nicole Simpson-Wooden, Program Service Aide; Therese Nohos, Vice President, General Counsel; Dr. Cheryl Green, Governors State University President; Kaitlyn Wild, Director of Compliance and Ethics Officer; Katelyn Rosales, Program Coordinator; Nicole Harrison, Space Administrator III; Percy Amarteifio, Paralegal Assistant; Sharry Murawski, Client Relations Rep I; Raynae Williams, Coordinator for Financial Services; Vicki Gregory, Administrative Assistant; Rebecca Vowell, Human Resources Operations Manager; Scott Thesen, Specialist, Online Instruction; Stacy Amedeo, CAS Promotions and External Relations Coordinator; Susanne Patterson, Extension Program Coordinator; Linda Theres-Jones, Assistant Director/Chief Accountant; Gloria Fuller, Office Manager; Joseph Maloney, IT Support Associate; Bonnie Simpson, Space Administrator III; Kelly Grab, Director Community Standards & Student Advocacy; Ember Smith Office Support Specialist; Amy Barsha, Executive Director; Jacklyn Egolf, Senior Library Specialist; Jolander Jeffries, Office Manager.

Meeting Opened At: 11:01 AM by President Sheryl Jones-Harper. Attendance was taken via roll call by Kathleen Frossard Fisher.

Approval of the Agenda: The agenda was presented to the Senate. A motion to approve the agenda was made by Susie Morris and seconded by Brenda Moore. The agenda was approved by the Senate.

Approval of Minutes: The minutes for March and April 2021 were tabled until the next meeting.

New Business:

Dr. Cheryl Green, Governors State University President, thanked the Senate for the invite. She thanked those who attended the town hall meeting that over 300 employees attended. She announced that Walgreens was running a vaccination clinic on Saturday and another on Saturday, June 6. Volunteers are needed. Civil Service employees who started prior to February 2021 will receive a 3% raise as previously agreed upon. A staff appreciation committed has been created and an employee appreciation picnic will be held at the end of the summer. She announced that the Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park was voted as the number one outdoor sculpture park in the nation. A celebration will be held for the employees who maintain the park. Relief funds have been granted by the federal government from the Covid 19 Relief fund. A new Dean of the Library has been selected.

Therese Nohos, Vice President, General Counsel discussed the difference between Exempt and Non-exempt Civil Service employees, employee unions and more events to include the FDC staff.

Kaitlyn Wild, Director of Compliance and Ethics Officer introduced herself and indicated that she will be sending out surveys and connecting with GSU employees to get a feel for the university.

Old Business:

Committee Reports:

- 1. Governance Committee Johnsie McAuley-Davis Tabled.
- 2. Correspondence Committee LaSheena Fuller Tabled
- 3. Financial Committee Dorothea Franklin Tabled
- 4. Affairs Committee -LaSheena Fuller Tabled
- 5. Education Assistance Committee-Brenda Moore Tabled

Representative Reports:

- 1. **EAC Committee Rep Sheryl Jones-Harper** Tables
- 2. **EOM Committee Rep Raquel Rios Aguirre** Tabled
- 3. Dining Advisory Committee Report-Susie Morris No Report
- 4. President's Report Sheryl Jones Harper Tabled

The meeting was closed at 12:05 PM.